In Sydney, Australia, the first National Pickleball tournament took place at PCYC Marrickville on October 13, 2018.

The standard of play was outstanding with the winners of all divisions came from both young and older sections of the public. Here is a small selection of photos from the awards ceremony.

Winner Men’s Singles: Nick Cooper with PAA President Gabi Plumm

Nick Cooper, Men's single winner

First Men’s singles 2018 Nationals winner Nick Cooper

Women’s Single Winner: Bree Calderwood with runner-up Jen Ramamurthy and PAA President Gabi Plumm

Bree Calderwood and Jen Ramamurthy

Bree Calderwood, Winner Women’s singles with Runner-up Jen Ramamurthy

Tournament organisers Tony Morgan and Bob Mendelsohn with Jen Ramamurthy

Tony Morgan and Bob Mendelsohn

Tony Morgan and Bob Mendelsohn, Tournament Organisers with Jen Ramamurthy

This tournament sported 66 players, all of whom played the division matched in one day. This scheduling was a tribute to Tony Morgan’s experience with badminton at Hunter Badminton, Newcastle. It was tight but tremendous, very few players had time to cool down between matches.

Watch this space for news of the National tournament in 2019. We wonder where it will take place.